Sport Besiktas to host Club Brugge

Besiktas to host Club Brugge

 Besiktas
Besiktas

(AA) – Turkish club Besiktas are ready to take on their Belgian opponents Club Brugge in the second-leg of the UEFA Europa League Round of 16 in Istanbul on Thursday.

Having lost the first leg 2-1 in Bruges last Thursday, Besiktas are aiming to advance to the quarter-finals in the Europa League for the third time in history.

The Black Eagles are set to host their Belgian opponents at Ataturk Olympic Stadium. The match will kick off at 21:05 CET (2005GMT). The game will be conducted by Russian referee Sergey Karasev.

Karasev will be assisted by two linesmen, Anton Averyanov and Tikhon Kalugin, fourth official Nikolai Golubev and additional assistant referees Sergey Lapochkin and Sergey Ivanov.

Besiktas regulars Argentine attacking midfielder Jose Sosa and Canadian defensive midfielder Atiba Hutchinson are doubtful for the match due to injury, while Club Brugge’s Spanish midfielder Victor Vazquez is suffering from ankle problems and will also miss the match.

Besiktas midfielder Veli Kavlak is set to reach his yellow card limit. If the Austrian midfielder is shown a yellow card on Thursday, he will miss the first leg of the quarter-final stage if Besiktas qualify for the next phase.

Club Brugge players Thomas Meunier, Francisco Silva and Tom De Sutter are all at risk of reaching their yellow card limits.

The second legs of the Last 16 in the Europa League will kick off Thursday.

 

Fixtures of the return matches and the first leg results are as follows:

Dinamo Moscow (Russia) vs Napoli (Italy) (1-3) at 18:00 CET (1700 GMT)

Dinamo Kiev (Ukraine) vs Everton (England) (1-2) at 19:00 CET (1800 GMT)

Roma (Italy) vs Fiorentina (Italy) (1-1) at 19:00 CET (1800 GMT)

Ajax (Netherlands) vs Dnipro (Ukraine) (0-1) at 21:05 CET (2005 GMT)

Torino (Italy) vs Zenit (Russia) (0-2) at 21:05 CET (2005 GMT)

Inter (Italy) vs Wolfsburg (Germany) (1-3) at 21:05 CET (2005 GMT)

Sevilla (Spain) vs Villarreal (Spain) (3-1) at 21:05 CET (2005 GMT)

Besiktas (Turkey) vs Club Brugge (Belgium) (1-2) at 21:05 CET (2005 GMT)

 

UEFA Europa League quarter final draws will be held on March 20 and quarter-final games will be played on April 16 and 23.

Previous articlePoliticians ‘exploit’ Ibrahimovic outburst
Next articleBarcelona proceed to Champions League quarter-finals